Global Exchange in Numbers
Yokohama National University (YNU) was established in 1949. YNU originated from a merging of Yokohama Normal School (est. in 1876), Kanagawa Prefectural Training Institution for Teachers of Supplementary Vocational Education (est. in 1920), Yokohama Higher School of Commerce (est. in 1923), and Yokohama Higher School of Technology (est. in 1920). Today, the university comprises five Colleges (Education, Economics, Business Administration, Engineering Science, and Urban Sciences) and six Graduate Schools (Education, International Social Sciences, Engineering Science, Environment and Information Sciences, Urban Innovation, and Interfaculty Graduate School of Innovative and Practical Studies). It has grown into a university with approximately 10,000 students and 1,000 staff and faculty.  Based on seventy years of history and tradition, YNU is highly internationalized, respects and strives to respond to the needs of society. The university is determined to provide practical knowledge to its students and to administer research and education with the aim of becoming a university that is more accessible to society and eagerly welcomes new challenges.  Located in the historically international city of Yokohama, YNU has been dedicated to a global perspective and has concluded International Exchange Agreements with 144 universities and institutions in 43 countries and regions. Currently, there are 751 international students from 72 countries and regions that are enrolled at YNU.           (As of May 1, 2022)